Character tokens

I like the idea of using miniatures in my games, but I just don’t have the money or painting skillz to make them as nice as I’d like them to be. So I have taken to making wooden tokens for the PC’s and NPC’s.

Here are the steps in case this sounds like something you would like to try.

Character portraits! I love scouring the internet for pics of NPC’s (and PC’s if my players are ok with it), so I always have tons of pics at hand. For this project I imported all the pics into MS Word and resized them to have their height or width equal 0.75″ (whichever measurement was larger), and arranged them in rows. Then I printed it out on an Avery full page shipping label (8165 if you are curious).

IMG_1031

For the wooden discs I purchased a bunch of 1″ x 1/8″ style from this place: http://www.craftparts.com/wood-circle-disc-p-3837.html?cat_id=461

IMG_1032

Then I cut each row into strips and used a 3/4″ hole punch to remove each portrait. I suppose I could worry about the white edges on some of the narrower pics, but it *is* just a game…

IMG_1033

Then peel and stick. Voila!

IMG_1034

Sturdy, easy to transport and completely personalized!

 

 

 

Published by

rgazley

Long time gamer looking for a place to write out my worldbuilding ideas (and maybe some other stuff while I'm at it).

Leave a Reply

