Domibian Spirits

In a couple of posts I made back in 2015 regarding elements/elementals and spirits I mentioned that I was up in the air about how to model spirits and elementals in Domibia. I still am, to an extent.

For elementals I think that I will just go with the defaults in Magic, partly out of laziness, elements graphicbut it is already well integrated into the magic system. I just need to come up with stats for Light & Darkness elementals.
Here is a refresher on Domibia’s elements…

 

 

 

 

Ok, now spirits. This one is still eluding me a bit (maily the details).
I am leaning towards the ghost description from GURPS Voodoo (3rd edition) (pg 55). Instead of using Fatigue I will be using Energy Reserve (Magical) (which everyone on Domibia has equal to their Will²/10-Magery). So when you die you make a Will roll to resist dissipating and joining your god. If they make the roll they start with ER of 1 which increases by 1 per day til it is back to normal. Each month they must make a Will roll or have their HT lower by one. The Will roll has several modifiers including a +1 to +5 for propitiation by friends or family.

This fits with my idea of ancestor worship for a lot of the world’s cultures.

Back to elementals: I think that using the defaults will cover the “animism” worry that I had in my earlier post about spirits. If you summon an elemental it represents whatever local spirits of that type is around. The worry about people worshipping the elementals isn’t an issue on further reflection; people *know* that their deity is greater than a stream spirit (or whatever), and such beings are simply tools to be utilized.

Published by

rgazley

Long time gamer looking for a place to write out my worldbuilding ideas (and maybe some other stuff while I'm at it).

One thought on “Domibian Spirits”

Leave a comment